This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.

Reviews

8.2 Review score
Score Breakdown
Cleanliness
8.6
Comfort
8.8
Property location
7.6
Facilities
8.2
Staff
8.6
Value
7.6
Reviews
    David Fuchser
    ch
    4.2
    29 January 2018
    No hot water or no water...
    ....and the rest: shame on you! I NEVER come back!
    Kevin, the guy with curly hair and the guy with the 5 dogs are amazing....
    Jennifer
    ch
    10
    9 January 2018
    Perfect!!!
    Gym, room, staff, grounds & pool
    antonella capozza
    it
    8.3
    6 January 2018
    Playa azul is quite isolated
    Relaxing, clean, cozy room
    Yon Eduin
    no
    6.2
    2 January 2018
    Not a five stars hotel
    Have to pay $2 extra for juice even if the breakfast was included in the price. Not a five stars service neither in the pool restaurant or the main restaurant. The personal need training!!
    Nice sorroundings
    fr
    9.2
    25 December 2017
    Breakfast should be a buffet instead of an a la Carte one, with included and excluded things.
    Location, beautiful place, superbe gardens, great rooms, desert and gorgeous beach
    Marc
    ch
    8.8
    24 December 2017
    Great villa for many people, wonderful bed, welcome cocktail and close to beach.
    Joana
    pt
    8.8
    12 December 2017
    Poor breakfast, really a disappointment for such a hotel. The only included drink was coffee or tea. Orange juice was $2. They offered one slice of bread per person, all extra was charged. Then you had to chose between fruit, typical gallo pinto dish or just scrambled eggs with toasts. Poor access to the beach where we had to cross some water which didn't seem so clean. Low water pressure in the shower and not so warm. No information about available food.
    Big rooms with plenty of towels for an evening and a morning shower. Beach towels. A lot of space to relax in the gardens. Complementary water in the room. Very nice welcome drink.
    Pablotorres
    cr
    8.8
    18 September 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Jan Philipp
    mx
    10
    30 August 2017
    It was so beautiful and relaxing, we spontaneously changed schedule to stay longer. Great place.
    jacobccamp
    us
    8.3
    11 June 2017
    Overall, a great stay!
    The facilities were great, but it seemed like the whole property needed a little bit of TLC - just a fresh coat of paint and some pressure washing and it would look wonderful. The beach was nice to relax on, however it's not swimmable due to the rough waves and currents, however it is gorgeous! I wouldn't consider the remote nature of the property a negative, but you should be aware of it when planning as there is nothing less than a 20 minute drive (Marbella & San Juanillo being the closest towns).
    The Staff was incredibly professional and friendly. The bed was the most comfortable bed we have slept on in our time in Costa Rica - I would stay here again just for a good night sleep! Restaurant was excellent, just a little pricey. Overall, we had a wonderful stay if you can cope with the remote nature of the property.
    Alexandra
    gb
    7.5
    22 April 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    avishai
    il
    9.6
    17 April 2017
    Very relaxed, very pretty
    They oversold the hotel, so we when we arrived we had no room, they put us in a near by very basic hotel, that given the choice we would never agree to stay in
    Very pretty, very nice area, amazing room, good food, if you are looking for a relaxed place, you will love it
    Ken
    ca
    9.2
    29 March 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Tobbes
    de
    8.8
    27 March 2017
    Secret little luxury resort
    The location is very off. The the main other areas/towns with other restaurants it is a bumpy 40 mind drive at least. Without 4 wheel drive almost impossible. The final way to the resort is very messy and should definitely be cleaned up. 2 out of 3 service and breakfast people are great.
    Great quiet luxury spot. JJB the receptionist gave great tips and directions. Very nice set up with the pool and the rooms. During our stay the WiFi got upgraded. The best I ever had on a hotel stay. The outside deck chairs and beds are fantastic.
    gr
    4.2
    25 March 2017
    Probably a nice SLH once upon a time but sadly not anymore.
    The road to the hotel is one of the worst in the country (there is no road) and most of the personel is unacceptable. Lack of service and definitely not worth its high price coupled with the fact that it is in a remote area with no options around. Overall, it looks like it has been abandoned...
    The hotel used to be part of SLH group. There were still some evidences from that time: rooms decoration, size, modern interior, garden. The beach was fabulous to look at with black sand but impossible to swim due to the waves.
    Nigel Marshall
    es
    7.9
    24 January 2017
    Very peaceful place.
    Bed as I said was very comfortable, just a shame the sheets arn't ironed. Lack of any shade on the beach.
    Really really peaceful and quite. Just the sounds of the waves on the shore. The villas are very comfortable,the bed in particular, kitchen is adequate for this sort of holiday. Staff are all very friendly. Gardens are well maintained. We loved the hanging relax beds with shade, you could just lay there with a gentle swing,fab! Pool was also great.
    Lisa
    ca
    5.8
    22 January 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    John
    ca
    7.5
    21 January 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Jason
    gb
    9.2
    4 January 2017
    A small slice of paradise
    In middle of nowhere. Great for some to escape being around people but may feel far out for others. Not very easy to get to
    Very nice staff Great facilities including free kayak use Lovely pool with bar Beautifully kept - landscaped bushes and grounds. Gorgeous restaurant Large clean and modern rooms
    Isabel
    de
    5.4
    3 January 2017
    Remote hotel on ugly beach
    Very remote on a dirt road. Ugly unkempt beach with black sand, sea so wild you cannot swim. Swimmingpool nice, but too small. Restaurant mediocre, when we wanted bread for breakfast on January 1, they did not have any, because they had not found time yet due to the festivities on 31st December. Wine awful (we could not drink it). Bed too narrow (150 cm in a superior room)
    The gardens are lush and beautiful, there are hanging beds under the trees. Service friendly, room nice and clean.
Loading reviews